Freetown, Baby!


It’s confusing… by mabrajeux
February 22, 2010, 12:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

As I was packing up my bags the other day in Freetown, I realised that I’d forgotten something. So far, so normal. Couldn’t for the life of me remember where I left my keys. Then I realised I couldn’t remember which keys I was looking for either…

Well, the good news is, I haven’t actually forgotten anything. Apart from my umbrella, oops. But, as it turns out, I don’t own keys. And so it will be for the next couple of months. I’ll be borrowing keys from the kindly souls who are welcoming me in their home while I’m around these slightly less sunny shores, before I head back to what is now home: Hill Station, Freetown.

I wasn’t expecting it so soon but I do already miss the place, the sunshine, the sound of kids playing around everywhere and motorbikes buzzing past, the smell of wood fire and strangers saying hello with a smile…

I tried that last one on the tube the other day: the person opposite looked away slightly disturbed and I think she was seriously considering warning the station warden about me. Also, after a pretty successful run at the airport where I was proposed to twice more, I’ve not had a single proposal since I got back, which is definitely a disappointment…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

