Freetown, Baby!


Vultures on the veranda by jc2010sl
April 25, 2010, 12:42 pm
Filed under: nature - wildlife | Tags: , ,

I’ve been feeling under the weather the last few days, so I’ve spent a lot of time just sat outside on the balcony doing nothing at all. One of my favourite things to do if I get home before it’s dark is to sit and watch the red kites gliding on the thermals, periodically falling on one another, or swooping in search of lizards. With nothing much to do I thought I’d take up my camera and capture some of the wildlife.

The monitor lizards which the kites seek are everywhere in Freetown. Typically you see them doing what look like press ups as they warm up in the sun. As I approached though, this one scarpered “quick quick”.

Not quite as common as red kites, but frequently seen nonetheless are vultures. There must be plenty of carrion in the city and I’m sure much of the road kill is polished off by these creatures.

Another sight from the verandah are these little finches; I’m guessing one colour is male and the other female.

So much for the animals I’d see day to day. Having the time just to sit and watch, I spotted a few I’ve not seen before. Hovering around the banana plant was a tiny emerald humming-bird, and at the bottom of the garden I even saw a monkey ambling along the wall.

Amazing what you spot when you take the time to look.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

