Freetown, Baby!


Bushmeat by jc2010sl
July 9, 2010, 12:46 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Being stuck in the clotting traffic on the Kissy Road has its upsides. You’re in a perfect spot to see the unusual wares on display in the East End. There are barely any shops to speak of in Freetown, so almost everything is sold on the street. Sometimes quite literally on the street.

I’d not eaten any lunch and it was well into the afternoon, so I got out of the car and had a little stroll to see what street food was on offer. I saw some fairly unappetising foodstuffs – fish balls smothered in a chilli sauce, and something that looked like grilled aubergine. I asked how much it cost, and almost as an afterthought what it was. “Giant snail” came the reply. I would have tried it upcountry, but I’ve seen the filth that a Freetown snail slides through.

My encounter with Bushmeat was pretty vanilla though compared to some of the things on offer. Despite the prohibitions, a particular delicacy upcountry is chimp. I recently asked a colleague what he’d been up to at the weekend and he said he’d been upcountry where someone had given him a chimp. Somewhat taken aback I asked him what for, hoping somehow I wouldn’t get the answer I expected.  “Very tasty” he said, patting his stomach.

The moral; if you’re squeamish or concerned about upholding the law it’s a good idea to ask before you eat.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Walking around Big Market the other day, I stared down at a basket full of random things and in the middle of it, as if it was trying to get out, was a monkey’s claw… Made me jump out of my skin, which everyone around obviously thought was hilarious…

Comment by m-a

[…] running now for nearly 15 years, rescuing chimpanzee which are all too often captured to be sold as bushmeat or pets. After an obligatory 90-day quarantine (chimps can catch many human diseases, such as […]

Pingback by Monkey business « Freetown, Baby!

[…] onto the sea and to the south are the steep Peninsula Hills. Heading east the only way out is the Kissy Road, and to the west is the Lumley Road. Pretty much all traffic coming into or out of the city takes […]

Pingback by Road to nowhere? « Freetown, Baby!




Leave a Reply

